Ad by DarkoJuan

Forum

6 posts

Narnia Project

Jan 05, 2022 at 17:56

Note: This posted ended up being long and wordy, so the basic point is I'm looking for similar fonts to Wild Wood.

Hello! I've been using DaFont for several months but only just now discovered that there's a forum!

I'm working on a fairly large (several years) project of typesetting and formatting a version of the Narnia books for my girls. These are NOT and never will be posted online or distributed outside of my own family/friends.

I just finished the first book (The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe). I utilized 3 different themes throughout the book to show the different settings: Frozen Narnia, England, and Springtime Narnia.

For Frozen Narnia, I used (blue) coloured and textured versions of 1) PlymouthRock 'Snow Dusted', 2) General Uncial 'Snowcapped', and 3) Gothic Winter. My idea was that I wanted the chapter titles and page elements (not the text itself) to maintain a similar style but show itself "changing"/morphing as the story changes.

So in Springtime Narnia, I used a similarly textured but orange coloured version of Anerin, Ancient, Gothenburg Franktur, and Westminster Gotisch. This has the effect of the core font itself being nearly identical but shifting from an ice covered blue to a glowing orange as the story changes.

For the England setting, I basically used the same as the Springtime Narnia and just coloured everything Black - a nod to The Wizard of Oz where the "real world" is black and white but the fantasy world becomes coloured.

I can't see how to post pics, but I'd be happy to post a couple to show you how the effect works.

So now I'm working on the second book (Prince Caspian) and have decided I want to follow the font evolving as the story changes.